To walk a mile in someone elses shoes

Me and Elvis went to the market today because I wanted to buy some fruit and a couple other things that I was running low on. I got mangos and sweet bananas at the market and then I went to a marketplace and got cookies. Man, I love cookies so much.
Anyway, we walked the whole way to the market, which was about over an hours walk) and it was exhausting! I got a little sun burnt but not as bad as it could have been though. My cheeks, nose, and one of my arms got a little burnt. I took a thin scarf with me and put it over my head so that it shaded my face most of the time. It was nice to walk because I got to take in my surroundings where if I was in a matatu it would just fly past and I couldn’t drink in the culture.
As we were walking down the street there were these three little kids on the other side of the road playing when they saw me. They started yelling, “Hey! It’s a mzungu! Hi mzungu! Hi!” It was cute. There was another instance where we were walking towards a little girl that was holding her momma’s hand and she gave me this big smile and held out her hand and said, “Mzungu!” I reached down and took her hand and smiled at her. Kids are so adorable. As we were walking down the road a lot of people would stare at me, I would smile at them but they rarely smiled back. I didn’t know if they were just surprised to see a mzungu or if they were confused that a mzungu was WALKING to the market. Mzungu doesn’t necessarily mean the color of our skin but more of a status. Mzungu’s are known for being well off and rich. Mzungu’s have cars, nice houses, fancy clothes, and live easy. Here there was a mzungu walking down the dirt road looking terribly worn out but not stopping to call a matatu. Along with all of that I was walking with a mwausi (spelling?). (Mwausis are people that aren’t mzungus.)
We called a matatu for on the way back because I was just too exhausted and worn out to walk all the way back to campus. By the time we got back to campus I was ready to take a cold shower and sleep the rest of the day away.
It was a good experience and I got a lot out of it. I got to physically interact with the people and their culture, and I got a tiny taste of what it’s like to walk a mile in African’s shoes.

A couple nights ago at 5:00am I was awoken to Elvis calling me in a frenzy telling me that Ucumi market was on fire. We were supposed to go together last night to Ucumi to hang out and he was really glad that I wasn’t able to go. He was really worried and made me promise not to leave campus the next day. I don’t know how serious it is but last night I had a bad dream that me and Elvis were standing on the side of the road watching the market go up in flames when a bunch of people grabbed me by the arms and started dragging me down the street.
The next day I went into town and saw Ucumi and there was only a little corner of the building that was burnt. He over exaggerates things and I had a nightmare for no reason.

We had a softball game at our school and we played against a pretty good team. We lost. Our team is awful. It’s so hot out! Whenever I can I try to find some kind of shade to hide under so I don’t burn to a crisp! I tried to invite as many friends as I could but the only one that came was Frankie. He’s so awesome. I love that kid.

One thought on “To walk a mile in someone elses shoes

Leave a Reply

