To Narnia!!

My professor was telling me that Kenyans aren’t the most hospitable so it was a blessing to be invited over to Joy’s house for the weekend. Other areas in Africa are much more hospitable than the Kenyans.

My roommate decided to wake me up last night to tell me that she got a modem. Couldn’t it have waited until the morning? You had to yell my name at 2am and tell me that you got a modem? She can be really sweet though. She talks a lot. Like, a lot, a lot.

My friend, Elvis, has offered to take me around town some weekend. I would love to do that! He’s going into psychology so I think we could have a lot to talk about. He’s really sweet. He tries to include me into conversations when his friends go into their native language. Whenever he sees me he has a new question because he says I’m too quiet and he doesn’t know what I’m like.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how to learn Swahili. I started thinking about when I was a child and was first learning how to speak English. I didn’t know what any of the words meant. I gurgled and played with words and letters, eliminating which words were real and which ones were made up. As a child you listen to what others are saying, it may seem like babble at first but then you start picking up words. You repeat them and then figure out in what context you use that word. What would it be like to remake your childhood as you’re trying to learn a new language? I mean, you don’t spit up like babies do or any of that stuff, but how they murmur words and repeat things that they hear. If you get it wrong someone corrects you and you try to remember it the next time. I wonder if that could be a part of why every kind of animal is a “doggy” for a child. Doggy was the first word that you learned for an animal with four legs and a tail. So when a child sees an animal with four legs and a tail that doesn’t look like a dog they just say “doggy” anyway because they don’t know what else to call it. The parent corrects them with the right term for that animal, may it be a cow or a cat, and the child tries to remember the new term for that animal. Sometimes they’ll forget and call a cow a dog because they’ve forgotten the term but someone will correct them. It’s a matter of repetition. Listen, repeat, correct, repeat, listen, repeat, correct, repeat…

I’m ready for a cheeseburger. Or a taco. Pizza sounds good too. I really just want cheese. They don’t ever serve food here with cheese. I love cheese.

I was doing my laundry and I forgot to bring my key with me because Carol was in the room when I left. I didn’t think she was going to leave, but she did and I was locked out. I missed my class because ALL of my stuff was in my room: my books, notebooks, laptop, and my phone. We don’t have an RA so I couldn’t find anyone with a master key to let me in so I found Angie and she let me stay in her room while I waited for Carol to come back, but I didn’t really count on Carol to come back for a long time. I was just hoping that this wasn’t the day that she decided to disappear for a couple of days. We have a window above our door but the glass was knocked out of it a long time ago so instead there’s a board there. The board had actually fallen down a couple days ago and we just set it back into place. Remembering that, I got an idea. I grabbed a chair that was sitting out in the hallway and pulled it over to my door. I pushed the board out of the window and pulled myself up into the opening. Although, just then that was when EVERYONE and their family decided to come down the hallway. I dropped to the other side of the door and grabbed my key and unlocked my door. I saw some of the people that were passing by when I was crawling through the window. They had a good laugh at my expense. It was quite funny but I’m just glad that I got in!!

Image

I washed all of my shirts yesterday and hung them out on the line to dry so that I could wear a clean one the next day. Except, it started pouring the rest of the day and my shirts didn’t get dry at all. That back fired on me. So this morning I asked Carol if I could borrow one of her shirts so she picked out an outfit for me. I don’t know how to wear these hip clothes….

2 thoughts on “To Narnia!!

  1. so where’s the picture of you in those hip clothes? PICTURES, I want pictures. Why find your camera if you’re not going to take pictures?

Leave a Reply

