Last day in America

Tomorrow I leave for Kenya. I’m really really nervous and a little excited but mostly nervous. I have no idea what to expect. I’m going to be the sore thumb. Everyone will be staring at me and I’m not one that’s big on getting a lot of attention. The only other people that will be going with me to Kenya is one of my Professors and his wife. I’m going to be all alone. I’m not a very outgoing person so I’m a little nervous that I wont make friends, but at the same time I can imagine that a lot of people will want to get to know this albino skinned, curly redheaded girl.
I’m also nervous about culture shock. It sounds awful. I’m horrible at talking myself out of things and putting myself down. I’m afraid that culture shock will hit and I’ll go down in flames. I don’t think a lot of people know what culture shock is. It isn’t felt as harshly on two week missions trips. It’s when you get over there and you’re STUCK there for months and you can’t just get up and leave when you want. I don’t know. I’ll probably let you all know what it feels like when it actually happens.
I put off getting my vaccinations until the very last minute. I know, I shouldn’t have waited so long but I absolutely HATE shots. I hate needles. I almost passed out after getting my two shots the other day, but the doctor got to me before I could fall out of the chair. (I think some of my lightheadedness had to do with the after affects of the yellow fever vaccination. So I’m not THAT big of a wimp.) Shots are my Achilles heel. I love traveling but if I have to get shots count me out. I can climb steep ridges, cross shaky bridges over canons, jump off waterfalls, try any kind of food, but when it comes to shots… I’m a wimp.

I can’t wear shorts while I’m over there, which I’m quite sad about. Shorts are the love of my life and I’m going to have to go 4 months without them. I hate pants, but I hate dresses and skirts even more. I’m sure skirts will be a lot cooler than pants, so maybe I can wear a pair of shorts underneath my skirt. HA!

I’m going to be flying into Paris, France tomorrow and I’m going to have a 3 hour layover. I would really love to go out and see Paris but I don’t know if I would have enough time to check myself out, go wandering, check myself back in, and get to my gate on time.

So, as you can tell, I’m really nervous and I have a lot of questions on my mind.
Here I go.

3 thoughts on “Last day in America

  1. Gosh, Raye, you sound kinda nervous! Just remember that with GOD, all things are possible. For goodness sake, you have already survived the shots so the rest should be cake!

  2. You will be just fine!! You surprised me when you first took off for college that far away from home all on your own and I’m even more proud of you now for the journey you are about to embark on. You are doing something I would certainly never do! (considering how picky I am about my food, Kenya would NOT be the best place for me to go!!). So take a deep breath, learn from this experience, and remember to have fun! We will all miss you very much! Keep us posted here and I will make sure Jack reads theses. ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. I don’t know if the same thing is true for Kenya, but in Ghana I bought two yards of fabric to make a wrap around skirt that you wear shorts underneath. Think about it 😛

Leave a Reply

